You will be redirected to the page you want to view in  seconds.


New York Yankees

Manager: Joe Girardi
GM: Brian Cashman
Name: Yankee Stadium
Capacity: 52,325
Surface: Grass
More News Team News
Teixeira was removed in the sixth i... 07/29/2015 7:58 AM
Gregorius went 4-for-5 with a tripl... 07/29/2015 7:53 AM
Young hit a grand slam as part of a... 07/29/2015 7:50 AM
Division Standings
1 NY Yankees 101 57 44 .564 - 485 435
2 Toronto 103 52 51 .505 6.0 543 440
3 Baltimore 101 51 50 .505 6.0 440 393
4 Tampa Bay 103 51 52 .495 7.0 367 380
5 Boston 103 45 58 .437 13.0 425 495
Jul 30, 2015
Dustin Ackley (IF) Acquired from the Seattle Mariners.
Caleb Cotham (P) Optioned to Scranton/Wilkes-Barre (AAA).
Nick Goody (P) Recalled from Scranton/Wilkes-Barre (AAA).
Bryan Mitchell (P) Recalled from Scranton/Wilkes-Barre (AAA).
Michael Pineda (SP) Strained right forearm, 15-day DL.
Jul 29, 2015
Chris Capuano (P) Designated for assignment by the New York Yankees.
Caleb Cotham (P) Contract purchased from Scranton/Wilkes-Barre (AAA).
Jul 28, 2015
Nick Goody (P) Optioned to Scranton/Wilkes-Barre (AAA).
Diego Moreno (P) Recalled from Scranton/Wilkes-Barre (AAA).
Jul 27, 2015
Gregorio Petit (IF) Outrighted to Scranton/Wilkes-Barre (AAA).
Jul 25, 2015
Nick Goody (P) Contract purchased from Scranton/Wilkes-Barre (AAA).
Gregorio Petit (IF) Designated for assignment by the New York Yankees.
Branden Pinder (P) Optioned to Scranton/Wilkes-Barre (AAA).
Jul 19, 2015
Carlos Beltran (RF) Missed 12 games (strained oblique muscle).
Rob Refsnyder (2B) Optioned to Scranton/Wilkes-Barre (AAA).
Jul 18, 2015
Bryan Mitchell (P) Optioned to Scranton/Wilkes-Barre (AAA).
Branden Pinder (P) Recalled from Scranton/Wilkes-Barre (AAA).
Jul 17, 2015
Gregorio Petit (IF) Optioned to Scranton/Wilkes-Barre (AAA).
Brendan Ryan (IF) Missed 19 games (back injury).
Jul 15, 2015
James Kaprielian (P) Signed by the New York Yankees.
Jul 11, 2015
Taylor Dugas (OF) Outrighted to Trenton (AA).
Cole Figueroa (IF) Optioned to Scranton/Wilkes-Barre (AAA).
Chase Headley (3B) Missed 2 games (calf ailment).
Rob Refsnyder (2B) Contract purchased from Scranton/Wilkes-Barre (AAA).
Mason Williams (OF) Transferred from the 15-day DL to the 60-day DL (right shoulder inflammation).
Jul 9, 2015
Taylor Dugas (OF) Designated for assignment by the New York Yankees.
Cole Figueroa (IF) Contract purchased from Scranton/Wilkes-Barre (AAA).
Chase Headley (3B) Calf ailment, day-to-day.
Jose Pirela (IF) Optioned to Scranton/Wilkes-Barre (AAA).
Jul 8, 2015
Jacoby Ellsbury (CF) Missed 43 games (right knee injury).
Ramon Flores (OF) Optioned to Scranton/Wilkes-Barre (AAA).
Nick Rumbelow (P) Optioned to Scranton/Wilkes-Barre (AAA).
Jul 7, 2015
Andrew Miller (P) Missed 23 games (right forearm injury).
Jul 3, 2015
Carlos Beltran (RF) Strained oblique muscle, 15-day DL (retroactive to July 1st, 2015).
Taylor Dugas (OF) Optioned to Scranton/Wilkes-Barre (AAA).
Ramon Flores (OF) Recalled from Scranton/Wilkes-Barre (AAA).
Gregorio Petit (IF) Recalled from Scranton/Wilkes-Barre (AAA).
Jacob Skole (OF) Acquired from the Texas Rangers.
Jul 2, 2015
Rico Noel (OF) Signed by the New York Yankees to a minor league contract.
Jul 1, 2015
Carlos Beltran (RF) Ribcage injury, day-to-day.
Taylor Dugas (OF) Contract purchased from Trenton (AA).
Esmil Rogers (P) Outrighted to Scranton/Wilkes-Barre (AAA).
Batting Avg.

Brett Gardner NYA - .291
Alex Rodriguez NYA - .278
Chase Headley NYA - .270
Mark Teixeira NYA - .263
Didi Gregorius NYA - .259
Runs Batted In

Mark Teixeira NYA - 67
Brian McCann NYA - 60
Brett Gardner NYA - 47
Chase Headley NYA - 42
Home Runs

Mark Teixeira NYA - 26
Brian McCann NYA - 16
Stephen Drew NYA - 13

Adam Warren NYA - 6

Michael Pineda NYA - 117
CC Sabathia NYA - 97

Michael Pineda NYA - 3.97
Nathan Eovaldi NYA - 4.27
CC Sabathia NYA - 5.54

Sports Sightings

Notable photos of sports events and figures, off the field or on.


Previous Triple Crown winners | Video from Tony Paul about Miguel Cabrera | Comparing the Tigers' all-time best hitters

Seen in the PhotoStore

Detroit News PhotoStore

Purchase Detroit News images of historic events, scenes, places and people.

Go to the PhotoStore


Sign up for home delivery today

Follow Us On Twitter

The Detroit News Apps

Stay up to date on the go with the latest from The Detroit News apps

Our apps connect you with the best news, sports, auto and entertainment coverage from our team of award-winning journalists.